One of the reasons I like reading Christian blogs is because it makes me think about issues which I would never normally think  about, but which could very well be a part of my life in future. Children or lack thereof is one of these things. Here, Russell  Moore talks eloquently about infertility, miscarriages, and adoption in the context of his new book, Adopted for Life: The Priority of Adoption for Christian Families & Churches, and how writing it affected he and his wife:

“You know, the book helped us to learn gratitude to God, and not just for the happiness adoption has brought to our home. We grappled for years with infertility and miscarriages. Those are horrible things, aspects of the curse of Eden, and they left us battered. But God works all things to good-even horrible things-and that’s just what he did here.

Our Father knew that I wasn’t able to be a godly Christian father. Sure, I would have loved my children, read to them, prayed with them, done family devotions, evangelized them. But I would have taken my children for granted. I would have seen them as the “natural” part of the next step of my “life stage.” I would not have received my children as gift.  I would have assumed, “Well, we’re ready to have children and here they are.” And that’s pitiful.

The Lord-as he always does for his children-disciplined me. He made me hunger, that I might know that man does not live by bread alone but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God, and man doesn’t have children to whom to give bread except by the blessing and mercy of God.

Now, that’s not the case for everybody’s who is infertile, but it is the case that God in his wisdom knows what is best, and he is up to something, even in the most painful of circumstances.”

Read the full article

