Sometimes I wonder why it is I believe in God. And when I do, one of the things that sustains me is the realization that I do believe the world we end. Anyone attuned to the rhythms and patterns of the human race and of this world we live in can sense that. Someday, the lights will go out – and when they do, the God of the Bible is the only truth I have discovered which, being tested, rings out bright and sure enough to remain when destruction comes. Sturday and steady enough to remain when oblivion swallows what we know.

“I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and indeed, all is vanity and grasping for the wind” – Ecclesiastes 1: 14

“Remember your Creator before the silver cord is loosed, Or the golden bowl is broken, Or the pitcher shattered at the fountain, or the wheel broken at the well. Then the dust will return to the earth as it was, and the spirit will return to God who gave it” – Ecclesiastes 12:6-7

I’ve been listening to this Hilary Duff song(!) and even though its lyrics are the usual bubblegum pop for the most part, in the chorus she’s got one thing right – it is only “one more mile to Jericho”. Thank God.

